Databases

Note: You are viewing a list of links that are available from home.

Academic OneFile 
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.

Additional Databases available through Michigan Electronic Library 
Includes Ebooks, Learn-a-Test, Newspapers and more...

AtoZdatabases 
Premier Reference and Marketing Database including 30 million business profiles & 220 million residents. Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends and relatives, and much more!

Biography & Genealogy Master Index 
Biography and Genealogy Master Index enables users to locate biographical entries contained in more than 1,000 volumes and editions of important current and retrospective biographical reference sources. This index contains citations that point to over 15 million biographies on nearly 5 million people, living and deceased, from all time periods, geographical locations, and fields of endeavor.

Biography in Context 
Full text! -- This is a comprehensive database of biographical information on more than 180,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It combines more than 242,000 biographies from respected Gale Group sources with full-text articles from nearly 250 periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death years and places, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search path. Periodical content is updated weekly; reference content is updated quarterly.

Chilton Automotive Database 
This 24-hour on-call "mechanic" provides quick online access to repair, maintenance and service information on the most popular cars, trucks, vans and SUVs on the road today. Ford, Chrysler, GM, Honda, Toyota and numerous other makes are well-represented.

CollegeSource (from Home) 
A virtual library representing over 32,271 College Catalogs in complete cover-to-cover, original page format with 2-year, 4-year, graduate, professional and international schools.

Computer Database 
Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.

Consumer Reports with Cars 
Consumer Reports, is one of the top-circulation magazines in the country. Consumer Reports is an expert, independent, nonprofit organization whose mission is to work for a fair, just, and safe marketplace for all consumers and to empower consumers to protect themselves.

Expanded Academic ASAP 
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images!

Gale Courses 
Gale Courses (formerly Learn 4 Life) offers a wide range of highly interactive courses that you can take entirely online. You can enroll in courses with your library card. Courses run for six weeks and new sessions begin every month. How Do I Enroll In a Course?1. Click “Enroll Now” next to the course of your choice. You can find courses by browsing through the categories on the left of your screen or by using the search bar above.2. Select your course start date and click “Continue.”3. If you have never taken a Learn4Life (or Ed2Go) course: enter your email address in the New Student area, and click “Create Account.” Complete the Account and Student Information page and then click “Continue”If you are a returning student: enter your account email and password and then click “Sign In.”4. Enter your library barcode and click “Use Library Card”.

Gale Virtual Reference Library 
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).

General Business File ASAP 
Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Access to a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images available.

General Reference Center Gold 
Mostly full text. General Reference Center Gold on InfoTrac Web provides one-stop access to general interest magazines, business periodicals, reference books, maps, historical images, and newspaper articles.

Health Reference Center Academic 
Full text! -- This resource integrates the text of consumer health magazines and newsletters, selected medical journals, nursing & allied health journals, pamphlets, reference books, newspaper articles and topical overviews. Covers current year + 4 years. Updated daily.

InfoTrac OneFile 
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social sciences, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles.

Junior Edition 
This periodical database is designed for students in junior high and middle school with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Kids Edition K-12 

Kids InfoBits 
Kids InfoBits is a database developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5. Featuring a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, the most popular search method is moving from a broad subject to a narrower topic using the subject-based topic tree. The curriculum-related, age appropriate, full-text content is from the best elementary reference sources and magazines. This database covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

LegalTrac 
Students, law school faculty and legal researchers will all find the legal publications they need in LegalTrac ® . Drawing on a wide variety of the most highly regarded legal publications, LegalTrac ® provides indexing for more than 1,400 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals. Each title included in LegalTrac ® is selected on the basis of criteria provided by a special advisory committee of the American Association of Law Libraries. LegalTrac ® also contains law-related articles from over 1,000 additional business and general interest titles.

Literature Resource Center 
Full text! -- Designed to meet the research needs of undergraduate and high school students, the Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combining Gale's most used literary databases in a single Internet-searchable service, the Literature Resource Center covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors. Search by Author Name, Title, Genre, Literary Movement or Literary Themes, or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search path. Periodical content is updated weekly; reference content is updated quarterly.

Mango Languages 
Learn Languages through Native Conversations. Mango is designed to equip you with conversational abilities from the very start. Whether you're learning how to order a pizza or ask when the game starts, Mango immerses you in real, everyday conversations in 12 different language courses. Some of the Languages Offered*:

  • Brazilian Portuguese
  • Spanish
  • Japanese
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Greek
  • Russian
  • Mandarin Chinese
  • and more ...

Morningstar 
The Morningstar Investment Research Center is a one-stop tool for collecting timely financial data, learning about investment options, and reading up-to-date financial news and commentary. It also provides access to detailed mutual fund, stock, and exchange-traded fund analyst reports.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context 
Full text! -- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center draws on the acclaimed social issues series to provide a complete one-stop source for information on social issues.

SIRS Discoverer 
Full text! -- Geared for K-9 students, this full text database contains articles drawn from over 1,000 magazines, newspapers and government documents. Icons indicate the reading level for each article. Students can browse using a subject tree covering 15 diverse categories. This database also covers Current Events and select Photo Essays portraying social issues and global concepts. Includes The World Almanac for Kids, Merriam-Webster's Dictionary and Thesaurus, and Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia.

Student Edition 
This periodical database is designed for high-school students with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Times Herald via ProQuest 
The electronic edition of record for the TIMES HERALD Paid ads are excluded.

TumbleBooks 
The TumbleBook Library is a collection of free interactive animated talking storybooks. You can chose to read the text or have the stories read to them. Some books feature "Word Help" to assist in sounding out words. There are also book-related puzzles and games to play. Stories are available in English, Spanish, French and Chinese.

World Book Encyclopedia Online 
Online version of the complete reference work along with dictionary, atlas, links, magazines, historical documents, audio, video, images, and 3D photographs.

Zinio - Digital Magazines 
Zinio is a multi-platform distribution service for digital magazines. Zinio enables access to full digital issues of selected magazines with the use of a library card and without holds, checkout periods, or maximum quantities.


St. Clair County Library is very fortunate to be a participant in AccessMichigan, a statewide initiative to improve library services across all types of libraries. The Library of Michigan has been very active in negotiating with online database vendors to be able to provide free access to select online databases. Michigan Library Consortium has also been an active partner is administering the database system. Funding for this project began through the Library Services and Construction Act (LSCA) and is contingent upon Congress passing funding for the new Library Services and Technology Acts (LSTA). St. Clair County Library has purchased subscription access to the other databases not available through AccessMichigan.

AccessMichigan Periodical List-Full Text (AMPL-FT)
The AccessMichigan Periodical List-Full Text (AMPL-FT) was created by the Oakland Schools New Media Information Center staff. The purpose of this list is to provide a single alphabetical listing of periodicals which contain full text articles from AccessMichigan databases. Please Note: This database is case sensitive (i.e. If you are looking for the titles with the word "journal" in them, try using "Journal" instead).

IP Address: 54.226.180.223